<![CDATA[The Review Files - Film & TV]]>Sat, 27 Feb 2016 12:42:35 -0600Weebly<![CDATA[The Walking Dead Season 6           Episodes 1-8 [MidSeason Review]]]>Mon, 30 Nov 2015 18:02:41 GMThttp://thereviewfiless.weebly.com/film--tv/the-walking-dead-s6-e1-8-review
Today I'm posting my reviews for the first 8 episodes of The Walking Dead, up to the Midseason Finale, which aired November 29th, 2015.
So far the season has been insane! Everyone is fighting so much, whether it's with what they are feeling, or the Walkers, or even living enemies and each other. It's been a constant battle with no real respite. Check out my individual episode reviews below!

Review File: Episode 1 "First Time Again" [Season Premiere]

EPISODE SUMMARY:                               AIRED: October 11, 2015

In the Season 6 premiere, Rick and the group continue to have trouble assimilating into Alexandria; and a new threat could bring them closer together or drive them further apart.
REVIEW:                  RATING: 4.25 A-      
In this Season 6 Premiere episode, the show picks up right after the events of the Season 5 Finale. It switches between past and present events, which are shown by the past events being in black and white and present events in color. Rick and the people of Alexandria are trying to lead a HUGE hoard of Walkers out of the nearby quarry and away from Alexandria. The episode intermittently switches to past events, starting from what happened right after Reg was killed by Pete and Rick killing Pete, and shows how the people are feeling about it and the new dynamic within the community. There's a lot of distrust and hostility,
especially coming from an Alexandrian named Carter. But then the very serious problem of the quarry full of Walkers comes up and they have to work through their differences to protect the community and its people. There's a lot of character growth in this episode. It truly amazes me how much the writers can fit in just one minute of the show. And then there was a HUGE cliffhanger at the end. That cliffhanger is just torturous. All in all, it was a good solid episode and a great start to the season. I was just a bit overwhelmed with the back and forth between the past and present.

Review File: Episode 2 "JSS"

PLEASE NOTE: Episode 2 was unavailable for me to download for some reason, so I was unable to watch and review this episode. Which kills me because of that huge cliffhanger at the end of Episode 1. But I can provide you the information and photos.
EPISODE SUMMARY:                               AIRED: October 18, 2015

​As things begin to return to normal, a new problem arises for the Alexandrians.

Review File: Episode 3 "Thank You"

EPISODE SUMMARY:                               AIRED: October 25, 2015

​A small group, including Rick, runs into hurdles while trying to return to Alexandria, and some may not make it back.
REVIEW:                  RATING: 4.75 A+

​This episode was amazing. It seemed like everything that could go wrong did. One half of the Walker hoard is still following Daryl, Sasha and Abraham. But the other half is quickly surrounding and at time overtaking Glenn, Michone, and Rick. They lose people in their groups and there is the continued worry for Alexandria and what's happening there. There was even a moment when I was startled toward the end of the episode. We don't know what's happened to Glenn - is he still alive or is he dead? This episode really keeps you on  
the edge of your seat. I can't wait to see how they make it out of this one, if they even do. At this point, it's looking a bit hopeless for some of them.

Review File: Episode 4 "Here's Not Here"

EPISODE SUMMARY:                               AIRED: November 1, 2015

​A new face appears; trust issues form.  
REVIEW:                  RATING: 4.25 A-

It was interesting finally getting to see Morgan's story and what happened to him after Rick left him the last time. We learn why he is so hesitant to kill. Eastman and Morgan seemed to form a pretty tight bond and how it all ended
was heartbreaking. Seeing Morgan's struggle to get out of the darkness he was submerged in was powerful, and you can see that he still has some of that struggle, just as Eastman did. It takes a lot to stick to your beliefs in a world that's gone to pieces. And especially and no-kill belief in a world where killing could mean continued survival. This episode was really powerful and heartbreaking at the same time.

Review File: Episode 5 "Now"

EPISODE SUMMARY:                               AIRED: November 8, 2015

​Following a number of setbacks, the mood in Alexandria grows grim for the sheltered citizens.
REVIEW:                  RATING: 5.00 A+

​This episode shows the state of the people after the Wolf attack and the Walkers surrounding the walls. Everyone is feeling hopeless and that there is no future for them. Glenn, Daryl, Sasha and Abraham are still missing. There are those who have no hope whatsoever and there are those who are still trying to keep Alexandria and its people together. This episode is about hope and despair, anger and blame, love and heartbreak. This episode shows the human condition after a tragic and traumatic event.

Review File: Episode 6 "Always Accountable"

EPISODE SUMMARY:                              AIRED: November 15, 2015

Daryl, Abraham and Sasha run into multiple obstacles, including a new threat, while trying to return to Alexandria after a mission.
REVIEW:                   RATING: 4.75 A+

We get to see what's going on with Daryl, Sasha and Abraham in this episode. Sasha and Abraham are pretty much safe for the most part. They are dealing with more personal, mental issues. Daryl, on the otherhand, has to try to get free of the three people who captured him, then save them from the people after them, then being betrayed by them after he offered them a safe place in Alexandria. Daryl definitely had a lot going on in this episode. And he lost is crossbow! Daryl and his crossbow go hand-in-hand. I'm interested in seeing what happens when they get back to Alexandria with all those Walkers outside. Will Abraham
somehow use the RPG? And what about Glenn? I hope we learn what happened to him soon.

Review File: Episode 7 "Heads Up"

EPISODE SUMMARY:                              AIRED: November 22, 2015

Alexandria is finally able to begin pulling itself back together; peace is embraced between the two groups.
REVIEW:                  RATING: 5.00 A+

This episode was so hopeful in the beginning. They were making plans and the others were making their way back to Alexandria. Daryl, Sasha and Abraham are on the road back. Glenn and Enid are within eyesight of the walls. Then at the end, that tower falls and you can just see all those plans for the future crumble. It's a bittersweet episode. And what was Ron planning to do to Karl? Was he really going to shoot him in the back? It was just an insane episode.

Review File: Episode 8 "Start to Finish" [MidSeason Finale]

EPISODE SUMMARY:                              AIRED: November 29, 2015

​After a few moments of peace, trouble finds its way to Alexandria again with a threat that may be too big to defeat.
REVIEW:                   RATING: 5.00 A+

The mid-season finale was insane! So much happens in this episode that I don't even know what to write. It's kind of overwhelming. Everyone one is battling something in the episode. Fear, hopelessness, defeat, death, the Wolf, Walkers and each other. They are all fighting, but the question we are left with by the end of the episode, is will they win, will they live? I cannot wait for the season to start back up! 

So those are my thoughts on the first 8 episodes of The Walking Dead Season 6. Are you watching TWD? What are your thoughts on the show so far? Let me know in the comments!
]]>